Heaving to in a Ballad?

dahlke

Heaving to in a Ballad?

Post by dahlke »

I have never tried heaving to in a fin keeled boat. I would love some hints or a description on how to heave to in a Ballad :-)
Mads
Ballad #332 (aka. Obelix)
Restoration blog
Boat and restoration pictures
Bob McGovern

Re: Heaving to in a Ballad?

Post by Bob McGovern »

Yes please.:) (What size genoa are you using, Mads? That might have some bearing on the advice we receive. We'll be changing to a full hoist 138% on roller furling.)

If anyone has experience fore-reaching in squalls under reefed main only, or main and partially furled genoa, or storm jib ... that would be good information to have, also. Our little boat can fore-reach all day on reefed main only, in winds up to 50kts. DAMHIKT. :shock: But its sail balance is very different from the Ballad.
prjacobs

Post by prjacobs »

Well, I'm far from an expert .... FAR !!!
That said, I hove-to a couple of times, once after an 'accidental' tack and later to put the Navik paddle down. On the accidental tack, curious to see what would happen, I left the jib sheeted where it was and the tiller tied over to the lee side. The jib was back-winded, stopping the boat in it's tracks, and there she sat at about a 60 degree angle off the wind and quite happy to just stay there. This happened in flat seas and about 12 knots of wind with the full main and a 130 Genoa.
I haven't yet tried it yet under rough conditions.
Bob McGovern

Post by Bob McGovern »

You been out playing yet this Spring, Peter? Should have some feisty conditions to practice in.